Some Notes on Streaming

Streaming services have, over time, become very popular. I have always liked them. I watch what I want, when I want, where I want. I am always surprised that everyone doesn’t stream. As a professor, my work schedule is ever-changing, classes Monday night this term, Wednesday next…let’s throw a morning class in just to mix it up a little. So, the notion that I could watch something when it is convenient to me is very appealing.

I got my Netflix account when the company began. DVDs delivered to the door. Cool. I added on the streaming feature the day it became available. I did not let go of the DVD option, some things cannot be had through the streaming service. The company (owned by Amazon) has a variety of options, levels, if you will. Just streaming to one device is the cheapest at $4.99 a month for two DVDs per month to three discs out, unlimited number per month for $15.99–%19.99 for Blue Ray. Add to that streaming at $7.99 for one screen at a time, standard def. Again, levels of membership exist, how many devices at a time? HD, Ultra? How many screens—the top dollar plan is four screens at a time, HD and Ultra for $11.99. For a family, this last one is likely the best option. Screens is a confusing term, I think. By screens, Netflix means—how many screens are tuned to in right now? You can put Netflix on your Roku, Apple TV, Xbox, PlayStation, laptop, desktop, smart phone, whatever; but you can only have it actively working on how ever many screens you pay for per month in any particular moment. If you are watching Law and Order: SVU in the family room, and your partner is watching X Files in the bedroom, and you have a two screen plan, Johnny cannot watch Shirobako on his PlayStation—most streaming services have such limits.

Netflix is the grandfather in this industry and has the widest variety of content. IT specializes in movies and TV shows that are not brand new. Almost anything that has been released on DVD can be found on Netflix. And is a good, inexpensive service. Someone in my family is using it every day.

Hulu is a little different. Hulu takes current TV shows and lets you watch five episodes back. It also has older content, but is better for keeping up with current TV. We have a membership that is $7.99 monthly. We are limited to the number of screens we can use. I rarely use Hulu—I don’t like the interface, it has nothing at all to do with content. I will say, if you wait to start a series until episode six you will be SOL for episode one.

Amazon Prime Video is included with membership (and if you don’t have Prime, you should, so many perks!). Like Netflix, the variety is huge. The two services complement each other, what cannot be found on one, can generally be found on the other. Amazon gives the added feature of purchasing content. But it can’t be downloaded and saved for viewing offline, which says to me I don’t really own it. Amazon carries many foreign shows as well as popular and cult following American shows. I use this service often and recommend it. It too, like both previously mentioned services can be streamed on almost any device. Not sure about screen limits, we’ve never had a problem.

Acorn TV is $4.99 a month and specializes in British TV. Content not widely viewed in the States; Foyle’s War, Midsomer Murders, Single-Handed (which is actually Irish), Rosemary & Thyme, The Republic of Doyle (which is Canadian). Adding this inexpensive service to your streaming choices adds depth. Shows here can be found in few other places, if any.

And of course, iTunes which gives almost unlimited choice for renting or purchasing (to be downloaded and watched offline if one wants). So, prices vary.

I find using a mix of Amazon, Acorn, and iTunes satisfies my entertainment needs—well, TV and movie entertainment (music is different). I use them often, depending on my mood. Netflix less often and Hulu almost never.

Welcome to the twenty-first century, invest in one. Cut the Cable cord, be in control of your entertainment.

This entry was posted in TV and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some Notes on Streaming

  1. diymariellis says:

    I don’t know why, but this makes me think of a story about these little girls I used to babysit. Their parents don’t have cable, and use a combination of Netflix, Hulu, and iTunes. One day, the youngest girl looked all confused, and asked what the “Ch” on the other volume button that didn’t work stood for.

    For me, personally, I mostly watch YouTube and Netflix. I think YouTube (or at least the model of the independent content creator) is super fascinating and is proving to provide a ton of legal and creative innovations.

    Like

    • Mel says:

      I agree. I forgot to add YouTube, we stream from there as well.

      Technology is moving so quickly. So many things a child/teen will look a and have no concept:

      The Save button in word shaped like a 3.5 floppy.
      The phone receiver shape on a cell phone.
      The concept of “rolling up” a window.
      High-speed film.
      Encyclopedias

      Oh, I could go on.

      Like

Leave a comment